DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After moving to Colorado from Ohio and realizing that air should not have smell/taste I decided it was time to change somethings in my life. I am not ready to give up my love affair with cars so I have decided to go the EV path. My car is a 1968 Porsche 912 that I bought as a restomod project, I bought it without a motor or transmission.

I am complete noob at this so please steer me toward what is essential reading (I have already found the wiki).

Thanks,

Rob

·
Registered
1,100 Posts
Figure out a budget.

Budget will probably depend on what it gets you, but, at least have a ballpark idea of what you're willing to spend.

How are your fabrication skills and tools?

How soon do you want it done? How much time do you want to spend on it?

Anything from all but buying a kit to, scrounging junkyards for free parts and making it work with what you find is on the line. You can spend $30,000 you can spend $1000.

Budget and time determine what steers you.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
As far as fab skills I would say I am decent when it comes to traditional automotive things; I have retired a few vintage cars. I am also fortunate that my father-in-law is an electrical engineer for things I don't know how to fab; but I prefer to use him him as a last resort.

Time frame: 3 years
budget for the drivetrain: 25k
What I want to achieve: 200 mile range, >200hp/torque

·
Registered
1,100 Posts
I am decent when it comes to traditional automotive things
Time frame: 3 years
budget for the drivetrain: 25k
What I want to achieve: 200 mile range, >200hp/torque
Good news, you have lots of options. You have the budget to build pretty much whatever you want as long as you're not wasteful, and the skills and timeframe to cut as many corners as you feel like.

Range: