DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My first post (yes, I am a newbie on this forum, please be patient)
I am comfortable fabricating entire vehicles (my creation is at http://www.indycycle.net), am competent with MIG and TIG (mild and stainless steel, chromoly and Aluminum), and have helped students construct four Electrathon Competition vehicles at three different schools as well as a recumbent electric tadpole bicycle.

This will be my first ICE-EV conversion, so I want to do it correctly, but possibly in stages (running prototype, then possible upgrade in motor/batteries, etc).
I would like to have a 50-70 mile range per charge, but more importantly would like to get massive torque (300-500 ft-lbs) with little weight difference (or even lower weight).

Running prototype costs will be minimum ($2K range), so most likely a forklift motor or similar will be the first motor choice along with Lead Acid Batteries. I know this won't get me the performance I want, but it will get it on the road.

However, I am leaning more towards just biting the bullet and getting the right components for the performance/range I want, so spending $4K for the motor/controller and $10K for LiFePo battery pack would not be unreasonable. I have looked into EV West's packages (Warp11 motor with Reid transmission) but am not familiar enough with other alternatives to commit yet.

·
Administrator
6,253 Posts
Hi
IMHO - you are right to skip the lead,

Motors - DC is cheap and powerful, AC is expensive or wimpy or both

DC motors
So far nobody has been able to convince me that an expensive EV motor is anything other than a forklift motor with advanced brushes (easy to DIY) and a nice coat of paint

DC controllers
I used a Soliton for a while - it is much more expensive than an OpenRevolt
BUT it is amazingly well made and powerful
If I could afford one (get it past the wife) I would love to have one
Pricey but really nice