DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 89 Posts

·
Registered
405 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy all!
I'm new here, and I'm just getting started building my own EV. Right now I'm doing a lot of the research, and I just secured my donor vehicle, a 1969 VW bug. http://www.corbinstreehouse.com/blog/2010/04/electric-bug/

So, some info about myself:
* I'm 31 and a programmer at Apple by day.
* Skill range: I can weld (MIG, oxy/acet) and braze fairly well. I'm good with tools; both woodworking and metal, although I'm a very novice machinist. I have a woodshop/machine shop in my garage. I used to have a '67 mustang, so I'm used to working on cars, but mainly doing "basic stuff", like fixing power steering, heater cores, brakes, etc. I've rewired my house, so I have some experience with AC power, and I used to race electric R/C cars as a kid so I know a little about how batteries work (Nicads, back in those days).

My EV goal for the bug:
Ideally 100 mile range, but I would take 50 miles including a rather large 6 hill to my house. Ultimately, I just want to be able to drive to work and back (20 miles each way, without charging and make it up the hill -- "highway 17" for people in the Bay Area of California). I want to be able to go 65-70mph on the freeway when I need to.

How much money am I willing to invest? Well, as much as I have to to meet my goals. I'd like to keep it around the $10k point (maybe up to $15k).

What have I considered? So far, not much. Travis Tyler's 66 Bug has a lot of things I'm looking to mimic: http://ev.gearboxmagazine.com/2010/04/06/travis-tylers-1966-volkswagen-beetle-elec-bug/

Anyways, I'm looking forward to my project and just wanted to say hi.

-corbin

·
Registered
2,217 Posts