DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello,

I own a 1980 Mini 1275GT that has been sitting in perpetual restoration mode due to a lack of time and currency to complete the job. This has given me time to think about the direction I would like the project to proceed in once I gain sufficient finances to resume.

I have a diploma in electrical engineering, my brother is an automotive engineer ("mechanic") by trade, and my father made a career out of fabrication and custom panelwork.

I am considering converting my Mini to an electric vehicle as a "restomod", and hope to retain the famous handling characteristics of the car in the process. I expect that, once the project is complete, the car would be used mostly for fun (on a track or one of New Zealand's several twisty, hilly backroads), or possibly for short-range commutes.

My proposed specification would be to have an electric drivetrain that delivers performance on par with the stock 1275cc A-series drivetrain (i.e. similar specs for maximum torque and power; 54 hp (40 kW) at 5300 rpm and 65 lb⋅ft (88 N⋅m) at 2550 rpm, according to Wikipedia); so as not to overload the original suspension and steering components. Since the A-series engine and gearbox are combined into a single housing, I would be considering opting for direct drive to the front wheels; either through a differential or by using two motors directly coupled to the original driveshafts; unless there is an overwhelmingly good reason to couple an electric motor to a transmission.

Besides the engineering challenges, my main motivation for considering electric conversion over a traditional restoration with an original-equipment drivetrain is to eliminate the noise from the passenger cabin; which will make driving the car much more enjoyable.