DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am a first time individual interested in building my own full conversion all electric car. I already purchased a 1997 Eagle talon/Mitsubishi eclipse and removed the 4 cylinder engine, fuel system, and exhaust system. The car is front wheel drive with a 5 speed manual transmission I intend to use. The car weighs about 2900lbs and is a 2 door sport coupe. Although I have not done this type of conversion before I do most of my own vehicle maintenance and I have a bachelor’s degree in aerospace engineering and I have designed weapons for 25 years. I would ultimately like a vehicle range approaching 200 miles although I am willing to build up to that from a starting point of about 50 miles. I Would like to have sporty performance for the car with accelerations of 0-60 mph in about 4-4.5 seconds. I have not bought any parts so far in terms of the conversion but I intend to spend about $10000 to accomplish this conversion mostly through sweat equity. So how do I get started?
Thanks, Kurt 3/9/11 ** reposted to "All EV conversions and builds" **

·
Registered
118 Posts
Good to see another 2G DSM in the works. Mine is on a very slow pace, but I have done some engineering on mine. If you click on my signature link below, it will take you to my post for a spreadsheet that, from what I've been able to research, seems pretty close to actual performance.