DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
My father has a Malibu with an engine issue, where one cylinder will not compress properly and sometime soon the engine will fail. All other components are in working order.
I have experience in welding, at the time of writing I am captain of my high-school robotics team, and I am interested in engineering. I perform basic maintenance on the family vehicles, ranging from the 60's, 90's and 00's.
I intend to replace the gasoline engine with an electric one, and hope to get at least 32 km per charge, and travel up to 100 km/h, but 80 km/h would be fine.
As a student, I can only afford the basics at this time, but my basic idea is to save on maintenance and fuel costs while gaining engineering experience.
Considering the specifications of the vehicle, I may trade it before performing the conversion.
- Automatic Transmission (probably need manual)
- Power locks, brakes, and steering (but windows are manual)
- 3051 lbs Curb Weight (probably need something lighter)
I have considered the use of several batteries to be installed in the trunk, a micro-controller under the hood, alongside either a DC motor (forklift) or a 3-phase AC motor (which I hear is the new way to go).
Any suggestions, corrections or examples are always welcome.

·
Registered
511 Posts
The weight is kind of high, but doable. Those range and speed expectations are well in reach with lead batteries (assuming you don't want to drop 5k+ on lithium batteries).

The automatic does add another layer of difficulty, but there are folks here who have automatics. I think maybe two. The main difficulty is keeping the system pressurized while the car is not moving (electric motors don't idle, so the pump stops and looses pressure). Some use a separate motor that always runs to pressurize it; others have made the electric motor idle by putting a resistor in the circuit.