DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a 2005 Ford Mustang, and plan to convert it to an EV. After reading through dozens of walkthroughs I believe I could put together a working plan. However, since I can't find a 2005+ mustang conversion walkthrough, I would love for you all to point me in the right direction and tell me how you all would go about converting this car, how many batteries, how strong a motor etc.

PS. I realize the consensus is that this car is too heavy at 3500lbs, with the engine, to be converted on a modest budget but if you read below I think you'll see why my case is different.

Skill Level:
As an electrical engineering undergrad I will be doing all of the wiring for the batteries/motor and auxiliary etc. I have also done a lot of welding/plasma cutting etc and even have access to a machine shop and lots of helpful mechanical engineering students at my university.

Range:
The goal is to be able to drive to school and back on one charge. Thats 1.25 miles there and 1.25 miles back, for a total of 2.5 miles of range. Charging may take as long as is needed.

Performance:
If I could achieve 20-25 MPH that would be amazing, however 15-20MPH is just fine.

Money:
This is why I have modest goals for range and performance. I plan to not spend more than another $2000, please keep in mind I already have the car so no money will be taken out of budget for the purchase of the vehicle. Also any income I get from selling the engine or other unneeded parts will be added for a possible extra $500 I assume.

Parts:
I realize I will have to go lead-acid over lithium simply due to the cost factor and I am okay with this.

Thanks again!

·
Administrator
6,115 Posts
With that range you could spend half your boodle on some leaf or Volt modules and keep away from smelly old lead acid
A complete Volt pack is about $1800

Suggest
Forklift motor - 11 inch - I paid $100 for mine