DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It pains me a bit to convert a vehicle in perfect working order, but it’s free and exactly the style of e-motorcycle I want for commuting to work. And I’ll help save the planet.

I am a mechanical engineer with tons of experience in electromechanical product design and fair automotive/mechanic skills. I also have a 3D printer at home. It turns out that my exact bike was on HUM3D and I already downloaded the 3D CAD model so I can start to figure out what motor and batteries that I can fit in my chassis.

The problem I’m having is trying to figure out what type of motor to use, what voltage and how many/type of batteries to get. I can’t make heads or tails of the motor performance curves.

My ideal goals:
  • Get back and forth to work (30 miles round trip) in Florida (flat as a pancake) with city type driving and an average speed of 40-50 mph (if I take the back roads).
  • Be able to take the highway route if I choose (75mph for about 9 miles of trip). For this bike 80mph or faster is a bit rough since I have no windshield and the you need the wind to deal with the heat 9 months of the year.
  • Be able to accelerate as fast as I can today. Moderately aggressive acceleration if I want, but tires will NEVER squeal on dry pavement. I get 51 ft-lb of torque at 3400 rpm today.
  • I’d like to be able to use the existing belt drive on the bike which has a 2.0625 gear ratio. I know this is low for most ev builds. 72 mph requires just over 2000 rpm on motor.
  • I do have a radiator and fan on this bike that I can use if I need to water cool the motor.
  • Keep the conversion cost below $5k
  • Style the bike so it looks like an EV. (I love the look of the 2013 Voxan Wattman motorcycle)
I’ve looked at the HPEVS AC-20 motor (which is in the rendering) and that allows me to get 12X 40 Ah SLA batteries. But that setup doesn’t seem to produce enough continuous torque.