DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I'm new to EVs and new here.
I've been interested in them for a long time, but it seems things are improving pretty quickly enough to have a drag car comparable to a ICE drag car with EV.

I have been drag racing 1-3 days a week for about 15 years now.
I have a 98 Camaro that can run high 6's in the 1/8 mile.
-The car weight <2500lbs with a LS1 and 4L60e trans.
-It has a 3.73 Mosor rear with a spool.
-The car is mini tubed with a full cage and has been front halved
-I am running a 29" DOT MT slick on the rear and skinnies on the front

My skills - I have put this car together from a completely stock car. I have removed everything down to just the chassis and put it together again several times. I can design parts with a 3d printer and openSCAD. I have experience programming Arduino and Particle micro-controllers. Here I learned a decent amount about electronics. I have built several personal projects with these micro-controllers. I don't know how to rebuild an engine, but I do know how to install cams, heads, etc. I have some knowledge on tuning but not a lot.

Range - I could care less about range as long as it can make it from the pits to the start line and back to the pits after the run

Performance - I ONLY want to run 1/8 mile so this set up will not need to go 1/4 mile. My first goal is to beat my current time of 6.8 in the 1/8 mile. My long term goal is to get to the 4's in the 1/8 mile.

Budget - $20k-40k

Parts - I'm new to this and looking for guidance
I know these things are changing all the time and the parts out there are a little confusing to me to compare
From what I gathered I need Motors, Motor Coupler(s), Batteries, Controller(s), Charger, What else?

Other- I don't need any creature comforts

Questions:
-Do I have to have a transmission?
-AC or DC for this application?
-What motors are recommended and how many?