DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm an electronic engineering student and I have some experience with electric cars. I did the complete electrical system integration of this little rallye car (S2000) last year: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5844VCjRpv0

So my uncle came to me and said he want to convert his Chinese UTV (XYJK800). I managed to get quite a budget for this conversion.

The standard UTV weighs around 1100lbs and is licensed till 1760lbs.

The specs I want to aim for:
range: 150miles
top speed: 70mph
power: 40kw peak
road legal in Europe (Austria)
battery: >15kWh

I will build the battery pack myself because and I have access to high power XALT pouch cells. They are very expensive but I plan to reuse the pack later.
Budget without the battery cells: 15000$.

For VCU I will choose a MoTeC control unit (high price, but I get a huge discount and I can reuse the firmware I wrote for the HIPER MK1)
I have worked with Elithion, but I think Orion might be the better option since it has OBDII support and it is a bit cheaper.

It will have one motor/ controller per wheel because I want to use it as test platform for a follow up torque vectoring project. This is the point where I have the most difficulty to choose. I am also uncertain which Voltage range it is best to operate but currently I plan to go to the 100V range.

I consider the Revolt motors because they look quite promising (power, voltage, speed) however I wonder if there are more robust, higher quality options than this. The controller should be operable by CAN.
I would be really glad if you guys could give me for this build (especially motors/controllers) before I start. I'm looking forward to this project and I'm going to document everything for you.

Any thoughts welcome!

·
Registered
26 Posts
So my uncle came to me and said he want to convert his Chinese UTV (XYJK800). I managed to get quite a budget for this conversion.