DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. This might be a bit uncommon but I was planning on doing a conversion of a tractor, this cool old thing: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allis-Chalmers_Model_G. I was hoping to use a 2013 Nissan Leaf (might be a bit overkill but not afraid to pop wheelies haha) that I might buy, it is going on auction soon.
I already own the tractor. I also currently own a 2015 Nissan Leaf, but I am saving that for personal use. I'm a software engineer (hopefully that can be of some use) and I don't have too much mechanical experience but my brother is a mechanic who works a lot on farm tractors. I've seen these two methods for controlling the Nissan Leaf motor: http://productions.8dromeda.net/c55-leaf-inverter-protocol.html (this looks best) and https://www.thunderstruck-ev.com/dilithium-vcu.html but I have trouble understanding what I am looking at as I don't have much experience.
It looks like the motor can be controlled over the CAN bus but it seems like additional pre charging circuit or something is needed, was hoping to just use all the components in the leaf. I was hoping to use the batteries (preferably 1/4 of the batteries in a leaf since it's a small tractor), battery charger, and the motor from the leaf and do as little soldering/wiring as possible. Any guidance is greatly appreciated

·
Registered
80 Posts
Sounds interesting - have not seen an electric tractor on here before :)