DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings folks,

I'm a little new here, so forgive me if I post something .. dumb. I have a 1992 Grand Am that I am going to try to convert into a 100% complete EV. I bought the car in 1998 (it was my first car :3) In 2003 I decided that I wanted to change it's color, so I changed the color from the ugly GM teal to Lemon Ice Yellow. After which I converted the car into a drag racer (yes a uni-body drag racer)

I am an ASE certified mechanic and I have a degree in Computer Engineering (which is 1/2 Electrical Engineering and half computer programming - it makes creating new hardware and developing firmware fun). Realistically, I would like to get a 150 mile range out of the charge. I would be fine with about 75 (that would get me to and from work with about 14 miles to spare).

My whole concept is that I want to do it right the first time so I don't have to do it again. Half a**ing something is just asking for trouble, especially when dealing with electricity.

I actually stumbled upon a site called http://www.electric-cars-are-for-girls.com quite a while ago, and I decided to make the transition over to the EV side of things. Heck I can build full blown dragster engines, why not try my hand in something totally new? I'm not afraid to get dirty, and I'm not afraid to machine or modify certain things if need be.

I'm definitely looking at an AC system over a DC system. I like the idea of regenerative braking and reclaiming power back into the batteries from the wheels. I'm not sure exactly which AC motor I'd use though. I was actually looking at a BRUSA 8-24-10 motor pair for the front end (one per wheel), but that is a steep investment especially for two of them.