DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey everyone, I've been lurking for a while and figured I'd make an account.
This is an electric planning discussion, for a performance enhancement to a petrol car (and maybe mpg enhancement). So I don't think this goes in the "performance" thread.

My thought process is, I like electric mobility. I like power. I like gas mileage.
Why not make something that only has the power when I need (want) it.

Here's the recommended post information from the sticky:
  • Your skill level with auto mechanics and fabrication:
    I've done (petrol) engine swaps in cars. I can weld, wire harness, etc. I'm also a software engineer and program just about anything. I've also built ebikes and emotorcycles, but nothing over 8kw.
  • The range you are hoping to get (how many miles/charge):
    As a Hybrid, as many miles as the gas tank would carry I guess.
  • What level of performance you are hoping to get:
    200-300hp equivalent (or 150-230kw I guess). Highly optimistic, I know.
  • How much money you are willing to put into your project:
    Hoping the hybrid portion won't exceed 15k USD - or the Mrs might get mad.
  • What parts you've already considered, if any:
    I've never built a hybrid-anything. I've also never built anything with an AC motor that uses 'regen'. I understand how regen works on my wife's Insight, but I'm not sure how I would get an electric motor between an engine and a transmission on a truck (or on anything).

I've found a couple of people use axion flux motors, somehow (for their hybrid conversions). Like seen here:
    I think these can go between the motor/trans.

For battery cells, I was thinking maybe Lifepo4s. Something somewhat safe lol. Something that can quickly charge at 50-80amps.
    Maybe Headway 38120HP? Or maybe another cell like 60280 or something?