DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just joined this forum. This is great resource jammed with important information that needs to be passed on in communities across the globe.

I am fairly new to the EV world with honestly very little auto mechanical experience or fabrication experience but I desire to learn and an aptitude with my hands. Remodeled my own house (which I don't recommend).
I am hoping to have a daily driver that can do at least 30-40 miles per day and perform easily at freeway speeds (although it will not be on the freeway much except to move up a few exits.

I have a $10,000 budget for the conversion but I could be flexible if necessary. I don't yet have the truck but I am actively looking for a frame/body in decent shape without the engine.

I saw the great conversion done my MachineGuy with 60 100amp GBS LiFePO4 cells, Solitron1 control, 5K watt charge, Warp 11. That was 2012 am wondering if there are better options today.

Any advice would be appreciated.

·
Registered
1,025 Posts
Looks like the A100 is a pretty cool cab forward, midsize 60's pickup truck. I'm guessing they are pretty rare. I'm figuring it probably weighs around 3000lbs as a glider.

Your expectations for range and performance are very achievable.

In DC land, the warp or advanced DC 9" or warp 11 would certainly work. You probably want to keep the transmission, though with a high amp controller the warp 11 might allow for DC direct drive (motor straight to rear diff) if you were to put a 4.77 or 5.x ratio rear end in it.

As for controllers I don't think the Soliton controllers are currently in production. Nothing was wrong with them afaik, just not enough volume so they switched focus. As far as I know zilla controllers are your only good option in DC land right now unless you want to go with the old standby curtis controller.