DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys. my name is brandon. first since im new to the forum ill tell a lil about myself. im in knoxville tn. im 24. my automotive background is deciant. im a certified ASE master tech, i have an AA in automotive, 2 voca's in auto and engine builds, GM and BMW certified. im also certified in diesel and heavy equipment. but since i moved to TN. im a body builder (not the working out kind) trucks come to me cab/chassis i turn them into whatever; road tractor, dump truck, tanker, flatbed, crane truck, utility truck, ect. i fabricate and build the beds mostly from scratch, design and fab the hydraulic and electrical systems. metal fabrication is a huge part of my job. on the side i build lamborghini kitcars. im still working on my build lamborghini murcielago lp640. but i have built plenty of these kinds of cars. i have to make everything by hand. chassis, motor mounts, wire harnesses, doors, hinges, hoods, window components, ect. i love working on kitcars. but now im very interested in an EV. im not very sure how the whole thing works, i was trying to research and stumbled across this forum. i am working on getting a donor car right now. but i was wondering what a good cheap donor is often recommended. i also wanted to see if i can get a few pionters and advice on these conversions. i know about the adaptor plates, motors, controllers, dc/dc convertors, throttle box. but im just not sure what all of it does. such as the dc/dc convertor. im not sure on which ones to buy, whats good whats not. im not looking for alot of performance, just around town driving 40-60 mph tops, and maybe 40-60 miles on a single charge. my budget is small but not impossible. but i learn very quickly, and understand the concept of almost everything im told. but there is alot of grey area in these conversion for me. so thats why ill ask the pros. what do you guys think?

·
Registered
4,326 Posts