DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll start with the basic info:

• Top vehicle choices (currently): Honda CRX or Mini Cooper S
• I have 3+ yrs experience as a Mechanical Engineer (CAD, Fabrication). Just a small portion has covered electrical, but nothing on the scale of an EV conversion
• Desired range is at least 60 miles
• I need the car to reach highway speeds, so my goal top speed is 80mph
• Budget at the moment = $15,000 (still need to purchase donor car, < $2000)
• I also would like my build to use LiFePO4 Battery cells, an AC motor (possibly two for AWD if I can cover the costs), and a direct drive single speed reduction gear (rather than coupling to the old transmission)

Since I still need to buy the donor car I want to cover all my bases before I commit.

The biggest question I have so far is regarding current draw of the system. Of the primary drive components (Batteries, Motor, Motor controller) does the unit with the lowest current carrying capacity dictate the maximum power provided by the system? For example, my battery pack has a max continuous discharge of 700A, the motor is rated for 750A, but the motor controller is rated for 500A. Am I incorrect in saying that 500A is the max current the system can handle? Or am I misinterpreting the component specs? I have primarily done calculations with the HPEVS AC Motors and want to make sure my spreadsheet spits out accurate power values.

In addition to the HPEVS AC Motors, I have looked at the HyPer 9 – SRIPM Motor as well as old Tesla Drivetrains (although can’t seem to find full Tesla Motor Specs anywhere).

For batteries, I have primarily looked at Voltronix, CALB, and Bright Star cells.

By no means am I dead set on any of these component choices, so I am very open to suggestions on how to tackle this project!

·
Administrator
6,120 Posts
Hi Wut
Your location is important - please put it in your control panel!