DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey y'all,

I am attempting to convert a Ford Maverick. it's a heavier car, but I got it at a steal.

1) I can get through a decent amount of mechanical problems. But I have limited experience with fabrication, which consists of machine shop in high school.

2) Aiming for 80 mi/charger. So maybe a commuter car.

3) Looking for a minimum top speed of 75 mi. Something that wont' cause people to honk at you on the freeway.

4) ~5k. I want to keep the conversion on the cheaper side, so I'm considering in using a DC forklift motor. I do want it to be a robust and usable car.

I am ok with spending a lot of time on this project. If you have resources that get in depth with motors, circuits, etc., let me know. I'll spend a lot of time on it.

My major concern is that the forklift motor won't cut it. If so, is there an economical DC motor that will work?

I definitely think this will be a great learning experience and I would love to keep hearing from you guys about EVs.

Thanks!

·
Administrator
6,104 Posts
Hi
Welcome!

A quick Google showed a "Ford Maverick" to be anything from an SUV to a Jeep to a compact car

Forklift motors are fine for lighter cars - in fact they are gutsy enough that in a light car you can eliminate the transmission

For heavier cars you can use two!

If the Forklift motor won't cut it the next on the list would be a Nissan Leaf motor or a Tesla motor

$5K - really will be very marginal - possible but marginal

Put your location on your control panel - it helps people as some thing are hard to get some places

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
This is really close to what my car looks like. So its pretty much a heavier sedan.

Would the 5k budget work for a nissan leaf motor or would i still need to use lift motors?

Thanks!

·
Administrator
6,104 Posts
Hi
That looks like Google one from the USA - it says about 1300 Kg - which is not too bad!