DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've wanted to do an EV conversion and my wife suggested I should use an MGB (small, lightweight British sports car from the 60's). I looked up the MGB and I have to say, that looks like a really good suggestion. In fact, I found at least two electric MGB projects on youtube.

I have some experience with electric bicycles, but this is my first foray into this class of electric vehicle. For instance, the C-rate on the LiFePO batteries I used in my electric bicycles is way too low for this application. Any comments or pointers on where to start? Don't worry, I'll read the FAQ's and the wiki; I mean advice more specific. For instance, supposing I buy an EV kit; how do I know the splined shaft will fit the transmission in the MGB?

• Your skill level with auto mechanics and fabrication
Fair to good; I have some experience tinkering. I've rebuilt the brakes and engine on a '71 Beetle, for instance. Also, I'm an electronics engineer.

• The range you are hoping to get (how many miles/charge)
No more than 20 miles round trip; this would be a car for my wife and I to drive on dates in town. I plan to use a minimal battery pack (maybe even use lead acid?) and upgrade them later if/when the cost of Lithium batteries goes down.

• What level of performance you are hoping to get
I want it to accelerate as well or preferably much faster than the ICE engine version of the sportscar, but I don't need a very fast top speed. It will never be taken on the interstate.

• How much money you are willing to put into your project
I'm hoping to do it for about $8K including buying the car (which seems to go for about $4K).

• What parts you've already considered, if any.