DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

My name is Jose B. Almeida, I live in Portugal and I am a retired university professor; since I have a lot of spare time and some knowledge of car mechanics, electricity and electronics, I am considering a project for an EV conversion. I would like to do something which is a little challenging and saving money is not my primary motivation.

My idea is to start with a donor vehicle which has 2 rigid axles and a chassis, possibly a Suzuki Samurai, get rid of engine and transmission in order to fit 4 electric motors, one for each wheel. The converted vehicle won't have differentials, their action being replaced by electronic control of each motor's speed, with input from the steering.

At this stage I have only a very broad idea of what I will be doing, this idea being likely to change substantially in the course of the project. I will welcome all the help and suggestions that people can make and I intend to report as the project advances.

Best regards

·
Registered
325 Posts
Hello Jose, welcome to diy.
That project idea sounds like about half of all that come here with the same idea, put a motor on each wheel.

If you are looking for a challenge,
I say that saving money is the greatest challenge!
i.e. building an EV cheaper and yet better than using off-the-shelf parts and proven techniques. Anyone can build an expensive EV.

What advantage are you trying to gain with 4 motors and no physical steering that is worth the expense and complexity? Save the weight of a steering column and rack? Do you plan to have the car steer itself, so a human doesn't have to steer it, i.e. Google's self-driving car.
The failure mode of this design can be disaster.

Not sure what suggestions you are looking for.

Hi all,