DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Skill level with auto mechanics and fabrication
Low, as in basically none

Range you are hoping to get (how many miles/charge)
30 - 40 miles per charge

What level of performance you are hoping to get
Top Speed of circa 80mph would be cool

How much money you are willing to put into your project
As little as possible

What parts you've already considered, if any.
Currently trying to source a forklift motor in Ireland to do the job.
Also I have looked at getting sourcing an old ev car battery as well. Some options for this in Ireland, although it is expensive

·
Registered
459 Posts
What are your goals? I can't say I know much about the market in Ireland, but here in the States you can get a used EV that'll clear 100km for about USD$6k. I'm no expert, but it seems really hard to beat that for any highway-capable conversion.

I don't mean to discourage you, but there are no EV "kits" available for much less than that, so there's some custom fabrication that someone would have to do...

If you're looking for a project, there are a lot of ways to skin this cat if you trim your specs down, but if you're just looking for any electric transport, it's very hard to beat a used OEM offering.

·
Registered
282 Posts
What are your goals? I can't say I know much about the market in Ireland, but here in the States you can get a used EV that'll clear 100km for about USD$6k. I'm no expert, but it seems really hard to beat that for any highway-capable conversion.

I totally agree. I gave up my EV Golf project (after running it 4 years) because production EVs have gone down to the point it made no sense continue owning the "project EV". Plus most production EVs have more confort built in like A/C, thermo-regulated battery pack, regen, etc

Don't get me wrong, it's an awesome project. But not sure if it's worth it

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4