DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1974 Super Beetle
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings. I've been reading about homemade EV car conversions since the late 2000s gas price hike. I'm happy to introduce myself and announce I finally pickup up my donor car, a 1974 Super Beetle!

Getting back into things after some time away from the subject, I can already tell this has advanced quite a bit since the 2000s. I can tell I'll need to get back up to speed. I'll be doing some reading before shitposting, so if anyone wants to kick the ball and drop a link to a good article in the comments I'd be grateful.

I'm a former aircraft mechanic who worked both on-frame and component overhaul. I learned how to build circuit boards in high school. As great as that sounds, if anything needs welding I'm pretty useless :D .

Goals:
Top Speed: 70-80 MPH
Range: 100 MPH
Street Legal
Hopefully DC

Budget is probably about $10,000 but less is more and I want to have enough left over for the paint barn.

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
6,263 Posts
It sounds like this is a 1303 Beetle, with the CV-jointed rear axle shafts. That means that the transaxle is not part of the suspension, so you don't need to keep the original transaxle. I realize that the plan is probably to keep the original transaxle and adapt the motor to it, but you might consider which complete drive units (motor with transaxle) salvaged from recent production EVs might fit... before you commit yourself to a specific design.

·
Registered
284 Posts
Hey, I am in the Oregon City area, and just wrapping up my s-10 conversion. Indeed, much has changed since the early days. I would suggest you reconsider going with a DC motor. Everything is switching to AC these days, and there are a lot of good reasons to follow suit.