DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I’m considering converting a Porsche 924 to electric.
In essence, this is mainly a fact-finding mission to establish feasibility.
For those unaware, the car is a front engined rear wheel drive vehicle, utilising a torque tube which is mated to a rear gearbox and differential.

My knowledge is very, very basic with regards to EV conversions.

In an ideal world, and to make it worth doing, I need to have a range of around 250 miles.

I have seen various conversions utilising various motors and battery packs and was wondering what the general thought was on this?

I’m aware that there will be many other issues along the way but, at this point, it’s a question of quite simply, what’s the best way of turning it into an EV?

·
Registered
80 Posts
I'm not that experienced here - but I will say that achieving your range figure is going to be tricky (Not saying it's impossible, but 250 miles in a small car with precious little room for batteries is going to be a squeeze), let alone very expensive.

Apart from that - I've seen a few 924 conversions browsing through EVAlbum.com... Not sure if any members who are active have done one or something similar - If there are, they'll be your best starting point!

·
Registered
5,038 Posts
In any vehicle with a rear transaxle like this, I think it makes sense to consider packaging the motor and any required reduction gearing at the rear, leaving the engine space clear for a battery pack.