DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I've had to out all my projects aside for some time mostly due to moving across the city, to be closer to work.
Now that I'm slowly getting settled, and a little organised, the ekart has finally come back out.

I've hooked up a temp 80v 4ah battery for the purposes of confirming operation. Then I can get to installing the perminate wiring.

Here's the issue.
I turn on the key switch, the 24v contactor engages I get a quick two flash on the sevcon powerpak then the contactor dissengages.

Voltage with key off is 78v, key on is 0.4v

Any thoughts?
Thanks

·
Registered
472 Posts
I am no expert. But I would do the following:

1. Double check that it is indeed a 48v contactor on the coil side. It is possible it is intended to pass 48v through the contact but may operate on a different voltage on the coil.
  2. Check if your setup has the ability to disable the contactor. It is possible it is sensing a short or something similar and is disengaging the contactor as a safety measure. Maybe try disconnecting the traction battery from the contactor and see if it will remain engaged without the high voltage attached.
  3. Make sure you are seeing the expected voltage on the contactor coil (probably while you have the traction battery disconnected from step 2). I know I had an issue where the voltage applied to the contactor coil was insufficient to operate the relay.
  4. Check the current draw on the coil. While the power consumption is nothing like the traction circuit it is still significant. The available current may be insufficent to sustain the contactor operation. Although in this scenario I would expect you to be talking about blown fuses.
I doubt it is a bad contactor. A bad contactor would be unlikely to activate at all.

If I think of others I will update the post

·
Registered
78 Posts