DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone,

I am a Electrical Engineering student at Marquette, and in my senior design course, our group is in charge of converting one of our Student Safety Vans (Ford E-350 XL Vans) to an EV.

We have lots of ideas swirling around, and some factors that make this conversion very feasible:

120 mile range
35 mph max speed
11 hour run time (so approx. 12 hours to charge)

Right now we are debating what type of motor to use (DC / AC, with regen?), what battery technology to attempt to pursue, and motor controllers.

If anyone has any ideas / suggestions / calculators / tips, that would be greatly appreciated. I can provide more info if necessary, but wanted to keep this short and sweet to start.

Thanks in advance!!!

http://elimo.muserver.info

·
Registered
171 Posts
I can't see you getting 120 miles of range under any condition, at least not using flooded lead acid batteries. The vehicle is too heavy. You will also lose range due to the automatic transmission. The best of conditions would be something like 48 6V batteries, connected in 4 parallel strings of 12 for a system voltage of 72V. 48 batteries would take a long time to charge.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Right now our plans were to remove ALL old components (gas tank, engine, trans) and just do a direct connection from the motor to the drive shaft, with gear reduction as a probable step.

Would 120 miles still be unfeasible?

·
Registered
171 Posts