DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4,326 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'd like to be able to access battery voltage directly from a standard mfg charge port to power external DC loads.... I have no experience with the standard type-2 J1772 connectors or the Tesla equiv since my EV is built to charge from 110vAC with on-board charger and 'regular' plug.

I am wondering if it is possible to access battery energy in the OEM mfg EVs, or are there components on the car side preventing energy export?

If I wire up a custom type-2 plug, what will it take to get energy OUT of a OEM ev?

·
Registered
6,263 Posts
No, the battery voltage does not appear on the J1772 connector, or the equivalent AC charging connectors around the world. It is only on DC charging connectors, whether they are separate from the AC charging connector (such as CHAdeMO or the Chinese system) or they are combined with the AC connector such as in CCS and the Tesla designs.

Even in systems with a DC charging connection, those contacts are not live until the onboard equipment and the charging station equipment (electric vehicle service equipment or EVSE) communicate and negotiate. The AC contacts are not live, either, and when everything is turned on they are normally only the input to the onboard charger, which will not run in reverse to convert high voltage DC from the battery into AC power.

There are power export standards supported by some connections and some equipment, but they usually export only AC power since it is rare for any EV to be connected to a DC charging station in a situation where export of power from the vehicle would be desired. So yes, you can do this in a Type 1 (120 V AC) or Type 2 (240 V AC) connection, but in an OEM EV if the manufacturer didn't design this in (and essentially no one has included it until very recently), it would be a major project.