DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all!
According to Plamenator from Kostov, my motor and controller should ship next week so starting a build thread is in order.
This is my first build and i have decided to convert a Range Rover ym 92.
There is good place for all needed components (exept motor) and working under car is easy.My donor is a two door diesel model with hd springs and manual transmission.
My motor is Kostov dual 11" with Soliton1 controller. I have an extra zf 4spd automatic that i will use. That way i can use same adapter and coupler to other cars (BMW,Jaguar) as well. I will keep tc for now, it will removed later if necessary.Trans does not have computer,it´s light, simple and strong.
I have not ordered batteries yet, but would use 85xTS 160 if budget allows.That would give me reasonable range and with opportunity charging at work they should last for a long time.I might have to start with smaller pack but i will worry about that when motor is in place.
Range Rover is on a bit heavy side but i have a few spots on my mind where weight can be taken out.This will be mostly done after car is converted.
Since this is my first try on this subject i might find that things do not go my way, plan will then be adjusted and hopefully finished without too many delays. I expect to have car assembled in couple of months from motors arrival. Adapter and coupler come from Kostov. I made the drawings, big question mark there:p.
I will keep you posted and hope to get assistance when i hit the wall:eek:.
Greetings, Harri

Attachments

·
Registered
2,122 Posts
85 TS160's ???? Ouch :eek:

Are you building a school bus? :)

It would take lots of room and add lots of weight to an already heavy car. Are there any hills in your commute?

Don't forget to keep them warm, which would take even more room for insulation and heating elements.

DUAL 11" Kostov???? Ouch again :eek: