DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello; I'm just getting started with the electric car scene. I've always been interested in making bikes, go karts, and my own vehicles for a while though. Although I've always planned on using small gas engines. Even though whenever I'd ride or walk through the city I'd curse everyone who drives by. With their loud cars and smelly exhaust. Well I've had enough so I'm going to rip the engine out of an old car and build my own EV to prove a point to everyone I can. That the technology is here, accessible, and relatively simple.

So enough about myself I've been batting around some ideas and settled on trying to have a go at EV using an old beef cakey US Electric three phase motor. I'm sure people are already slapping away at the keyboard about why that's stupid and getting a big DC motor would be better. But the thing is where I live you can get these big surplus three phase motors for dirt freaking cheap. Which is a good place to start for proving a point.

So to start if I'm using a three phase motor I'm going to have to convert the DC current from the batteries to three phase AC before it goes into the motor. So the way I understand it right now but I could be doing this wrong I'm not an electrical engineer. I have to first pass the current through an inverter to make it AC then pass it through a phase converter to make it three phase? Or are there inverters that can send it straight to three phase? I feel like that's a good place to start for now to clear somethings up.

·
Registered
1,492 Posts
Not a dumb idea at all.

An inverter can take the DC from your batteries and output 3 phase AC right to the motor. It can also take 3 phase AC current FROM the motor and put it back into your batteries, which is called regenerative braking.