DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 168 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
regerative trike questions PHOTOS ADDED!

Hello!

I just discovered this site, but I've had the dream of building an electric (commuter), trike since I was in junior high... I'm now 61! LOL!

My concept "plan" has evolved into build a high mpg "hybrid" reverse trike, (2 seat/side by side). The forward frame would be a scratch build using the engine-intact rear end of a 250cc motorcycle. The 48volt motor would be connected to an extension/adapter with the "hopes" that when in fuel mode, the engine would be using the motor as a power source to re-charge batteries. When the engine's transmission was in neutral, the vehicle would be pure electric.

Fabrication challenges are not an issue. I've been an award winning prototype designer for over 20 years and have a complete shop (machining to composites), and have fabricated (among many other things), world record land speed hand powered trikes, deep sea diving equipment for the Discovery channel and man carrying ultralight aircraft.

My focus at this "pre-designing" phase, is to find out if I'm "off-base" wanting to create this dual source, "hybrid".

We live in southern Oregon with lots of small towns separated by miles of beautiful "vista-touring" roads. I would imagine using gas to travel the higher speed roads, covering these distances and then switch over to electric while touring the towns.

Other than that, this vehicle would be more of a commuter vehicle traveling between Medford & Ashland (15 mile distance). The quaint town of Ashland would be much better suited for electric power. Maximum speeds desired are around 45mph, with mpg and use of electric power the highest priorities.