DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Greetings,
I am a vegetable farmer who wants to convert my cultivating tractor, making it both electric and remote control. Really what I'm imaging is an unmanned tractor that could be operated through video feeds from, say, up to a half mile away.

The tractor in question is an Allis Chalmers model G. (photo attached) This tractor was built in the late 40's, early 50's, as a tractor that would specialize in cultivation (aka weeding). It has a unique design, with the engine placed behind the driver, which allows them a mostly unobstructed view of the crops right in front.

It is relatively low horsepower (11hp) and well suited to become an electric tractor. In fact, others have already done this (see the video below) and a manufactured motor plate for transmission mounting and coupling is commercially available. Everyone I've seen making these conversions uses an Alltrax contoller. This design only powers the wheels with an electric motor, while the steering, brakes and implement lift are operated manually. The original transmission is still used, with the driver being able to select reverse.

I want to expand this design to also electronically control the steering, stopping, cultivator implement lift and forward-reverse gear selection. This would allow full remote control.

I'm also imagining multiple mounted cameras and video feeds that would allow forward and rear views, as well as have close-ups of the crop being cultivated for more precise cultivating. All this would require and understanding of RC and wifi, of which I have none. Are people exploring remote control in these forums?

Any advice on going forward would be appreciated- I have many questions.