DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I am new to this EV world just bought my first EV vehicle a 2014 Chevy Spark and I am looking to modify it. I love the car but the battery range is just not that great. Manufacturer says that it can have a range of 82 miles but being 2014 the most I can charge it is 67 miles. So I am hoping that I can replace the stock GM batteries with the Tesla 18650 batteries? And hopefully I can extent my range of the vehicle? Would anyone have any knowledge of working on the spark EV battery pack, and if this can be done? Any help would be great.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Why would you expect to increase range? Are you planning to put in a substantial larger pack, and if so... where would it go?
I have seen the GM Batteries on the spark EV , they are long and flat and I don't think they are as efficient as tesla battery technology. I will cram as much 18650 as I can.

·
Registered
4,934 Posts
I have seen the GM Batteries on the spark EV , they are long and flat and I don't think they are as efficient as tesla battery technology.
The Spark EV uses pouch cells, which are also long and flat, and don't have cases. As always with pouch cells, they are stacked into boxes to form modules, with almost no wasted space. The original (2014) Spark EV uses modules from A123. The later Spark EV uses the same cells as the Chevrolet Volt, because A123 went broke and GM started making their own batteries from cells made by LG Chem.

Tesla uses cylindrical cells, which are the same thing as a pouch cell but rolled up and stuffed in a can. The cylinders don't pack together well, leaving spaces between them - just look at beverage cans in a case. Tesla has no battery technology - the cells are designed and manufactured by Panasonic. Also, Tesla has moved on from the 18650 size (18 mm diameter by 65.0 mm long) to the 2170 size (21 mm diameter by 70 mm long).