DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everybody.

I am totally new in retrofit engine to electric.

I have a Mercedes Sprinter 313 4X4 of year 2005 and want to retrofit his engine.
So I search for all infos how to do it.

My first questions:

Can I connect the electric motor directly to the main axis or better to still use the gear box?
On the Sprinter 4X4 there is a extended gear box to switch 2X4 <> 4X4, to use low or high gear and to block differential or no.
The ideal would be to connect the electric motor to that extended gear, without the "traditional" 5 speeds gear box.
But maybe a gear box is necessary otherwise the maximum speed of the vehicle would be to low?

Or is it ok, it would reach 120 km/h with the electric motor connected without the 5 speeds gear box?

Does it exist kits for Mercedes Sprinter or must I build all from scratch?

Do you know if somebody has already done a electric retrofit of a Mercedes Sprinter?

Of course advice on what electric motor to choose, witch battery and electronic parts choose, tips, etc, are more than welcome.

Many thanks.

Fre;D

·
Registered
577 Posts
It is probably simpler to keep the gearbox and transfer case. The difficult part is joining the Leaf motor to the transmission. There is no kit, and the fit between output shaft and transmission must be very precise.

If you use the Leaf gearbox, you will need to build motor mounts and have custom axles made. You will probably lose 4x4. The driveshaft angles from the Leaf motor to the rear differential will need to be the same.

A highway-capable EV conversion will likely cost USD$10k in parts, depending on many things.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hello and many thanks for your light.

It is probably simpler to keep the gearbox and transfer case.
Ha ok, because I have seen a retrofit of a VW Van and they dont use the gear box nor the clutch.