DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 20 of 87 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am probably over my head this and need to know if my plan will work. I have a 3500lb tube buggy with one ton axles, and 42 inch tall sticky trepador tires. Has supercharged v6 right now but a conversion kit will be here Monday or Tuesday. Warp9 curtis 1231 144v 500amp, zivan ng3, dc/DC inverter. Is this going to be enough to power my buggy with 12v agm batteries maybe 90ah. For gearing 4.10 axle 4:1 transfer case t4 manual transmission with 4:1 1st gear 1:1 4th. Always trailer it but have to slow crawler ledges and do some wot hill killing.

·
Registered
1,548 Posts
Everything except the floodies is fine. Go find salvage battery system of your choice about 300 -600 volts, maybe a whole wrecked car.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Could I still use the curtis controller andzegna ng3 charger with a OEM lithium pack? I'm just getting started with this conversion. Started pulling the ice stuff out and pick up the warp kit tonight at yrc.

·
Registered
1,627 Posts
Pay you a favor and put a 1000A controller in your system to have access to over 250 lbs-ft of torque.
The difference from 500A will be huge.

About battery, a rework* Chevy Volt battery can be a really good choice for you.
*you can rework those 360V battery to obtain 45V or 90V or 120V or 180V nominal battery.

·
Registered
93 Posts
Lots of people have talked about doing a crawler. Not a lot of people have done it. I'm looking forward to seeing this.

Sucks about the motor.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Very exciting! Not necessarily a reccomendation, just an option for you: you can recycle 18650 cells from old laptop batteries for very cheap. If you're comfortable DIYing a battery pack, I couldn't suggest anything better than 18650s.

·
Registered
180 Posts
Where were you going to put the battery pack? Larger tires may not be that great for rollover if the pack placement moves the CG up.

·
Registered