DIY Electric Car Forums banner

Senior Design Project

3562 Views 13 Replies 8 Participants Last post by  UCFdave
Hey Guys,

I'm a mechanical engineering student from UCF (University of Central Florida), my senior design project has been to build an electric sport bike, with the aim of making it cheaper, and having comprable (or better) range than the Brammo/Zero competition. Really a proof of concept - to improve market visibility to electric auto movement.

We've got an idea of where to start; Find a donor bike and use the frame/fork/wheels/brakes/etc and retro fit the electrical hardware into the bike, or use a donor bike frame as a starting point to build our own.

I've gotten some good advice from people, but I know this project is going to boil down to 3 things: the controller, batteries, and motor.

I've heard that Lead-Acid are easier and more affordable to work with, but the possibility of LiFeMgPO4 (or similar batteries) are tempting. Weight, physical dimensions, kwhr output will all be factors in the descision process.

As far as the controller goes I've been steered in the direction of the Alltrax 7245, although I'm seeing plenty of options from Alltrax; I'm just not sure where to start from.

Motors: I keep hearing about the Agni R95, although with a price of around $1400 this would eat up a lot of the total budget. I've seen other options like the Etek-r and the Perm PMG-132, I'm just not sure what the best bang for the buck would be.

One of the biggest issues I'm having right now is the battery situation; From what I've read so far, it seems like 72 volts is the sweet spot for operating voltage- that would mean 6 optima batteries.

Our team has a estimated budget of $3-4k USD. We have access to machine shops and are all mechanically inclined.