DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
it's apparently better than the original model s drive unit in almost every way, including way better cooling.

however, the older units have been hacked such that open controllers can talk to the inverter and motor THROUGH the tesla controller instead of replacing it.

is there any progress on doing the same but for the m3 du? Is it so obtuse that it'll take years to make it happen? Are there too few examples in junkyards so far to really mess with?

·
Registered
5,028 Posts
It's just a guess, but would expect that your last possibility is the case: just not a lot in the salvage system yet. I'm not a Tesla expert, but in this forum I've never even heard of a single person attempting to use Model 3 hardware, although a few have been torn apart (while making videos) so there are a few out there.

One detail that may be important: the Model S and X drive units all place the motor behind the axle line, but the Model 3 rear drive unit places the motor ahead of the axle line (like most other EV drive units). That matters to packaging the drive unit into the car, and to interference with the suspension components and structure.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I’ve been in contact with EV West over the past year about their development of an aftermarket dual Tesla motor controller (although they didn’t say whether it was a model 3 or not). It’s been a couple months from completion for the past year until just recently... now it’s about 6 months out lol.

I’m patient, but rest assured someone is working on it and I’m glad it’s these guys because they already have a working Tesla motor and aftermarket controller. It should be too much longer.

·
Registered
5,028 Posts
Is EV West developing a controller for the standard Dual Motor setup with Tesla’s Primary and Secondary Motors or will it have the ability to run a Primary on both axles?