DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm planning on building a solar system that outputs ~2100 W peak to charge my car completely off grid. I drive a stock Tesla Model 3 LR and I don't plan on modifying the car, so I will likely use the default Universal Mobile Connector to charge off AC (EU schuko connector, 230V).

I'm a total beginner to DIY but I've been reading a bit, and as far as I understand, the solar would have to charge an intermediary battery first, and then that battery can output power to charge the car. As far as I can tell, the Tesla charger is limited to 5 A minimum at 230 V, so the battery and inverter would need to be able to carry at least 1150 W sustained.

The solar also outputs 2100 W peak, so I assume the intermediary battery would need to be able to handle that kind of input.

I initially looked at getting something off the shelf like a Jackery 1500 battery, but that is limited to 600W input from solar (I'm assuming the size of the battery is what limits the input?)

My questions boil down to;
  • How large would the intermediary battery need to be?
  • What voltage should a system like this run on?
  • Do I need any other parts other than solar controller, battery, inverter?
  • Is there any off the shelf system that could handle this, either partially or completely (and that is not outrageously overpowered or expensive!)
I would really appreciate it if someone helps me walk through the math as well so I can rerun the calculations with different battery and solar setups :)

·
Registered
209 Posts
  • How large would the intermediary battery need to be?
  • What voltage should a system like this run on?
  • Do I need any other parts other than solar controller, battery, inverter?
  • Is there any off the shelf system that could handle this, either partially or completely (and that is not outrageously overpowered or expensive!)