DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Questions are likely to be way under what you guys are used to but I am very new to this stuff.

I have been recruited to assist a group of high school students in a Solar Go Kart challenge (ESE Instructor in my normal time) and have figured out the wiring for solar panels to Charge controller to batteries (4 12v 15ah lithium batteries) to Speed controller to motor.

Having trouble with batteries. I am using these batteries https://www.amazon.com/Rechargeable-Maintenance-Free-Replacement-Wheelchairs-Trolling/dp/B098NB58RD/ref=sr_1_10?crid=1JVDZ79OM6H98&keywords=12v+15ah+battery&qid=1647955644&s=instant-video&sprefix=12v+15+ah+battery,instant-video,59&sr=1-10 and I can get them to start and run for a bit then it shuts down and my multi-meter shows that two of the batteries polarity seem to be switched....

Have batteries wired to supply 24v 30ah (same wiring as 12v 9ah diagram on top right)
Product Rectangle Font Line Slope

Not sure what is happening and appreciate any ideas

·
Registered
2,974 Posts
"I am using..."

"I have...figured out the wiring"

You're supposed to assist, not do.

It's not about your school winning (what your management may want), it's about learning - THEIR learning, not yours.

That includes approaching experts on a forum.

Maybe you should let the kids figure it out....sounds like they have a better chance with their Google Fu than you do.

Seriously. Let them do it from start to finish. Safely. Including coming here as a last resort.

Rip out the wiring, charge the batteries, let them build their car under adult supervision.

·
Registered
778 Posts
These batteries identify as bi-polar. Welcome to the 21st :)