DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

So, i have been building and repairing 18650 batteries packs for ebikes for a few years now, and one thing that i noticed is that the most problematic part in these packs is usually the faulty BMS. This inspired my current project, which is a 14s 52V battery that i plan to build without a BMS. I have two low-alarm buzzers (each supports up to 8S) to eliminate the danger of over discharging and monitoring the discharge process, and a ISDT Q8 hobby charger to charge and balance the pack, that balances a maximum of 8 cells.

What i want to ask is, since i don't have a parallel charging board (for now), is it possible to charge this battery by charging first one half of it, and then the other? The battery is spot welded (as you can see in the picture), and i will put two sets of 8 sense wires (in each one - and 7 +) to the pack that will be compatible both with the charger and the low voltage buzzers. I would then like to split the battery in half (electrically, not physically) by soldering two extra wires in the middle of the pack, so that i actually get two 26 volt batteries that are permanently connected in series by nickel. Now my biggest concern is, when i am charging one half of the battery, will it in any way affect the other half of the battery since both halfs are connected in series with the nickel strip? And is the difference in voltage (when one part is charged and the other one is not) dangerous in any way when the battery is not discharging?

I am aware that this system is not very practical since it means that i have to charge two separate batteries every time and that i can't just charge the battery "a little bit", but always have to charge the both parts equally, but it's a experiment :)