DIY Electric Car Forums banner

Squareback running on squarewaves

18K views 35 replies 8 participants last post by  Newbnut 
#1 ·
Hello!

I'm very new to the world of EV conversions and car mechanics in general. Basically, I've ridden bicycles my whole life while waiting for the day that I could afford a practical planet friendly vehicle.

Well I'm now 30 and tired of waiting, so that's what brings me here.

For a donor car I'm looking at a VW type 3 squareback, with a stock curb weight something close to 2000lbs. It actually already has the engine and tranny removed so I was thinking of trying to implement a rear wheel direct drive system. There are several type 3 conversions in the EValbum, but they have kept their transmissions.

My buddy who's garage I'll be using has done a lot of work on VWs so I'm pretty sure I will have some expert advice when it comes to the mechanical side of things. I'm have an EE background so I can grasp most of the electrical details well.

Ideally, I'd like to have enough juice to go about 60mph over 30 miles flat, and still do 50 on 4% grade, although only for about 6 miles. All that without killing the lifetime of my batteries so I guess a 50% DOD to get the most out of them. Average acceleration from stopped is fine with me. I'm not looking to build a dragster.

My budget is pretty low. I'd like to do the whole thing for less than $10K, and I'm in no rush so I'll take my time to find the best deals and hopefully spend less $$$.

So far I've been thinking about a TransWarp 9 or 11 because Netgain seems to make them with direct drive in mind. Not sure what final gear ratio would be optimum. I've heard around 6:1.