DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I have myself 80kWh of Second Gen leaf battery packs (2x 40kWh packs).

I want to build an EV with decent power primarily, and reasonable range.

I have lots of experience in non-road going EVs, but nothing above about 50kW of power. No issues with the BMS/charging control etc, I just need advice on the powertrain.

The dilemma:

A leaf motor is rated to 110kW - This isn't enough for me unless it can be 'tweaked' with a different inverter.
A tesla small drivetrain is 220kW - This should do.
A large output DC motor - Not sure they would be capable of this power or easily obtained - poor efficiency?

The Leaf Modules are good for around ~300A which is around 120kW for a 40kW pack, but I think beyond this the tabs on the modules aren't suitable, and the chemistry is aimed at energy rather than power so I don't think it is wise to pull 600A from one pack.

This means that I would be better off using 2x packs in parallel for an output of up to 240kW, but the weight will be in the region of 600kg.

Can anyone recommend a good low-cost donor vehicle which would handle this kind of weight increase, with enough space to distribute this weight across both axles without having a massively rear heavy car.

My initial thoughts were:

- Citroen C5 tourer with front-mounted small tesla drive unit
Pro's to this would be its a big car, and has Hydractive suspension which would help compensate for the weight.

- BMW e61 with rear-mounted small drive unit (this one would involve significant chassis mods and boot floor removal).

- Audi A6 with front-mount motor.

Any advice would be appreciated.

BR
J

·
Registered
197 Posts