DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey this is my first time in a DIY Electric car conversion forum!

I am in a cross country touring band and fuel costs with the slow economy is really taking a toll on on us :mad:

I am trying to get an idea on what it would take to make some sort of a hybrid R/V or box truck that would bring the fuel cost to a manageable amount. I have access to all sorts of machine toys to make fabrications and what not.

I got the idea from my buddie's R/C monster truck. It was a vehicle that had 2 engine mounts, one which he mounted a nitro engine to and the other an electric motor. Somehow he got the 2 separate systems to work with each other. In return both battery life and fuel economy went up drastically. not quite double but around 60-70% more efficient. I know there are a lot of differences between r/c trucks and full scale one's, but I thought it was a good start.

So if you know of any threads to help put me in the right direction, I would appreciate it!

·
Registered
511 Posts
There's no reason you can't do this, and many people have proposed or asked about this on the forum, but I'm not aware of anyone finishing one and posting about it here. The main problem you'll encounter is weight; putting in a bunch of batteries and an electric motor, and the bits to connect a second power source to the drive train, adds a lot of weight. An EV works because you take out the heavy ICE but if you leave it for a hybrid, you don't have anywhere to save weight.