DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
262 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

Been searching this forum for answers on how to control the TC/Elcon chargers with CAN, especially the new UHF chargers you can get for cheap for the amount of power they put out. I’ve got the spec for the byte structure, and I’ve got some beginner knowledge in sending the CAN data packet with an Arduino microcontroller. Now I read on the net that in CAN, every byte of the 8 bytes of data are in hexadecimal, makes sense. But also when you convert that hexadecimal value you decimal, it cannot exceed 255. But in the CAN spec from TC charger, it says for example the max charging voltage input is formatted at “3021” which would be equivalent to “302.1V”.

So 1. I don’t understand how to fit that large number when a byte can only be up to 255.

2. Check the attached spec, but they also state the max voltage in byte 1 and 2, and they call it the high and low byte. I just don’t know what that means. Like if my charge to voltage is 302.1 and the corresponding value is 3021 that needs to be sent, do I send “30” in byte 1 and “21” in byte two? Obviously those numbers converted into hex..

If anyone has any insight on this, that would be a HUGE help. I’m not a high level programmer, just an amateur. I’m trying to make a simple way to control these chargers so everyone can use it to control them to adjust end voltage and current limit.

Thanks for any help! Check the attached pictures of the CAN byte spec 95580E25-C634-47F7-A87A-C877B2004504_1557058855601.jpeg 0E64DFDA-3F58-4FEB-BC42-6FF41E6278BC_1557058863847.jpeg 0E64DFDA-3F58-4FEB-BC42-6FF41E6278BC_1557058863847.jpeg

·
Registered
934 Posts
what you literally do is the following:

lets say 302.1 V, as you said it has an gain of 10 so becomes the decimal 3021.

which is hexadecimal 0BCD, see how i made this 16 bits, now each byte can only contain 8 bits.