DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi Guys, first post, thanks for adding me.

I am a long time car builder, have built around 10 cars from scratch for road and race, and built 3 over the last few years of my own design, albeit one similar, but not the same, as an Ariel Atom.

The last one I built 2 years ago, but not quite finished, is a Lotus 7 inspired, but larger open sports car. I had been busy for a while, now I'm going to complete it now, and as I own a Tesla S70 and a JAC iEV6S (small suv, 110hp) http://jacen.jac.com.cn/showroom/iev6s.html and am smitten by electric cars, I am going to make this sports car as a EV.

It's named after the well known Locost 7 homebuilt car from a well know book "Build Your Own Sports Car for as Little as £250" but larger (and completely different structure design) so ended being called the Largo, and now the Largo EV7.

Anyway, enough of the boring stuff, even with my long background with cars and owning 2 EVs, I know nothing about EV powertrains. I'm sure I'm not the first here to say that!

I am Australian but I reside permanently in China with my own business (hence the JAC). The variety of electric motors here is bewildering, albeit most look heavy and industrial.

My question is seeking a suggestion where to start with motors? The car will be around 1600lbs total weight I figure as an EV, and I thought for moderately exciting acceleration, 60 to 75KW (80 to 100 HP)? The 2900lb JAC certainly gets punched along nicely by 110hp, shocks a lot of cars at traffic lights.

Is there motor numbers/model types I should be searching for?

AC or DC? Voltage?

Water cooled or air cooled?

What's the difference between one of those big heavy looking industrial motors with all the cooling fins, and one for an EV? Just weight or more?

Info for controller?