DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello
I'm here to educate myself, this is my first post , I am not an engineer, and I usually speak French.....
Before posting, I did some Forum research and the post that came up ( tesla charging) was one of 2015 which ended with name calling between "Dimitri" and "Jack".....
I don't have the knowledge to say who is right and who is wrong.

Now to my question, in a EVTV video there was this picture: which I know has no relation to vehicle.....but..
Circuit component Font Rectangle Parallel Technology

So the "Battery controller" is closing and opening to let the solar panel do their stuff, ie: charging the pack.
Why use 480 volts of solar and not 403 v ???
thank you
Jean-Pierre

·
Registered
209 Posts
480 (or 500) is what's called "open circuit voltage" - voltage without a load connected. Once you start drawing power from the solar array, voltage will drop.

·
Registered
6,543 Posts
Cricketo has the right answer, but also, about 400 V (actually 208 V) is a standard voltage for three-phase (delta) power from electrical utility companies in Europe and is available in some locations in North America (with 240 V being the corresponding wye connection voltage), but is not a standard for solar panels, batteries, or other DC sources.