DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We have been working on our project (VW Vanagon) for a bit of time. It currently has the motor, batteries, and all components installed. We just (last nigh) took it out of the shop for the first time and encountered an error.

The drive unit is is ”limp mode” DI_w062_systemLimpMode as shown by the debugging on our T2C controller. It will run at reduced power but barely. Will not make it up a slight incline at a stop.

Attached is some photos showing the debugging screens offered by the controller. Any help would be appreciated. :)

Colorfulness Rectangle Font Material property Technology
Font Technology Screenshot Audio equipment Parallel
Product Font Technology Screenshot Slope

·
Registered
124 Posts
max power and max regen slider values, lol

First up, the disclaimer, Im not an expert, im learning all this EV specific stuff at the moment as well, however I am a mechanic by trade and have been playing with ICE cars for a while. I don't claim to be right and I could in fact be waaaaaay off in my thoughts...

So, looking at the diagnostic codes and doing a little googling, a few codes seem to pop out.
It seems to think there is no BMS (DI_w092_bmsMIA) possibly a CAN network fault (DI_w094_canData) and is obviously setting itself into limp mode (DI_w062_systemLimpMode)
The last one gave me a hit on google, Anybody seen these codes? Dl_w062 Power reduced & BMS_w073 Unable to start vehicle BMS_u008
The apparent solution to their problem was to replace the HV fuse and contactors.