DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
*this setup is not in a vehicle
Been working on setting up this rig for what will become R&D essentially, and I can't seem to get it to work...
Details;
-6ea 12v 35ah deep cycle sealed lead acid batteries wired in series for 72v pack.
-Motor is a Raymond 36v model 203-02-4005
-Controller is a curtis 1221m-6701

Like I said. After wiring it all up the motor doesn't seem to want to turn. Not sure if my issue is with the motor (do I need to modify it so I can over volt to 72v?). Or if my issue is the controller somehow... (do I need to buy a programmer to trouble shoot)?

Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated. I'm brand new to all of this (one of the reasons I'm starting out with this test setup) I have lots to learn for sure.

·
Super Moderator
1,353 Posts
Should be easy to narrow down, as you're using a series-wound DC motor.

Skip the controller, and just see if you can get the motor to spin using a single lead acid battery.

To make the motor spin, pretty simple, you should have 4 terminals. Electrically, the motor is just 2 coils. 2 of those terminals are the ends of one coil, the other 2 are the ends of the other coil. To temporarily wire it, you need to connect one wire from one coil, to a wire from the other coil. Doesn't matter which (it'll determine direction it spins). Then put + and - on the other two unoccupied terminals. The second you touch the last wire it's going to spark and start spinning the motor, so make sure the motor is chalked with something so it doesn't flip and roll away.

So, 4 terminals, call them A, B, C, D.
Coil 1 is A and B.
Coil 2 is C and D.

Connect either A or B to either C or D (doesn't matter). Suppose you connect B to C with a heavy wire (jumper cable, whatever). Then A and D become + and - (doesn't matter which).