DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not been here for a while and still needing to learn some.
I have a 1957 ford popular that I have been restoring and driving for the last two years, I am now preparing the bodywork for painting and next month it will look very nice. Interior will be done in the winter.
I'm still keen to go electric and in my mind I'm not expecting too much.
Top speed of the car is 60mph but mostly drive up to 50mph.
I want to keep the 3 speed gearbox more as a safety feature, the ability to dip the clutch and knock it out of gear in a crisis seems sensible.
I don't need drag strip acceleration.
Range 60-100 miles.
So is this doable at a sensible cost.
I spoke to London electric cars and they were talking £10,000
I can understand that if a person travels in the city and can avoid congestion and low emmissions charges and at some point that will be the only option.
Mine is just a preference for a quiet clean drive.

·
Registered
111 Posts
Omg, a 100e owner. Love it, I think you should rethink that transmission, not only is it very low geared which is not ideal, but pretty weak. Good theft prevention because most people will throw it in reverse. It wouldn’t be hard to throw a 5 speed in there because you won’t need to move the tunnel back like you would in a x-flow conversion. I don’t know what you would do for wipers, maybe the hillman/roots electric conversion. Love to see build progress.

·
Administrator
6,296 Posts
Hi
A small light car
Batteries are going to be your biggest problem and expense - a battery pack from a Leaf or similar will be needed
Stowing them will not be easy

Personally I would bin the gearbox and fit a 9 inch forklift motor where the gearbox usually lives - which would free up the engine bay for batteries

Cost - battery is the big one - 2000 pounds??
Controler - 300 pounds (Paul & Sabrina)
Motor - I paid $200 (100 pounds) for mine

·
Registered
111 Posts