DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello from the republic of ireland. I am a farmer and drive a pivot steer telescopic loader every day which is powered by a naturally aspirated ford d400 380 series, about 80kw or so, coupled to a clark torque converter.

Recently I found a newer similar version for sale locally which is missing its engine and torque converter. since I just do yard work with it, there is no certification needed and the motor could be reversed electrically, replacing the function of the torque. I have never worked with ac before, but have built a 12v rf amplifier for ham radio.

I do not exceed walking speed currently as the torque is worn out and I am happy to drive an ev like that, with one gear only. I do however, need lots of grunt for pushing around piles of dung and lifting 2 tons via hydraulics.

I had a look around here and everyone says not to use a mains motor as the battery voltage is too high, however using a tractor pto/ 540 rpm generator as a motor/gearbox combi in reverse would give me that low end grunt I need.

I would also be interested in implementing an electrical brake, by shorting the motor windings, if that would work, as a safety backup.
I would prefer to use 3 phase motors to avoid issues with brushes.

I have metal fabricating experience, having built numerous agricultural trailers and implements, some arduino and teensy 8 bit experience, if that is a help for making a PWM 3 phase controller.

The loader needs to operate for 3 hours every day. eventually I hope to charge it from solar panels, and may need to, when oil becomes uneconomical.

Some questions I have:

In this motor controller, it requires a rotary encoder on the motor, why is that since every motor I have seen can run on 3 phase or single phase alone, at a constant speed?

https://github.com/catphish/stm32_vfd/blob/master/main.c