DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

Just posted my New Member introduction here: Greetings from Germany

I’m considering to convert my 1997 Jeep Cherokee XJ (currently fitted with a 4.0 L Inline 6) to reduce noise, emissions and potential failure points in the system. Besides that, I’m just a passionate tech guy and love a good project. Depending on how feasible the conversion is and how it turns out, I’m then also considering to put together a conversion kit for the XJ as well as possibly starting a business to convert 4x4s to electric, but those are just some thoughts for the next years.

Your skill level with auto mechanics and fabrication

I'm a car mechanic, also working on all kind of projects continuously. I know how to use a welder… the tire carrier on the Jeep is DIY :)

The range you are hoping to get (how many miles/charge)

Looking at roughly 100 km (60 miles) to keep cost and weight down for the beginning, might want to increase that further down the line

What level of performance you are hoping to get

Don’t need to go fast (80km/h, 50mph), but I need torque for offroading and climbing mountain roads. Also, I still want to be able to tow small trailers (750 kg, 1650 lbs)

How much money you are willing to put into your project

As much as required, as little as possible.

What parts you've already considered, if any.

At the moment, I want to go for a 96V system… just to keep it safe

For the batteries, I would prefer to use OEM modules because of cost and their good packaging... for example the VW ID3 modules. While we’re at it, how would I connect, let’s say an Orion 2 BMS, to these modules (since the cells are packaged already)? Would I still need to get a cell package with the BMS itself?

For the motor, I’m really torn between DC (brushed) / AC (induction)..