DIY Electric Car Forums banner
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm a serious newbie, and am embarking on my first ev conversion (of a very tired old Triumph Spitfire) here in the UK. Can anyone explain to me in simple terms why most conversions keep the gearbox and use an adapter plate to bolt on the electric motor ?
I get that it's probably simpler for alignment etc., but also extra weight and a bit redundant given the torque of an electric motor ? ... my gearbox is pretty shot & I would prefer to do without it altogether and just connect the electric motor to the propshaft ... is this a really dumb thing to do, or is it a sensible proposition ?

P.S. Apologies if this has been answered many times before, but I couldn't find an answer through the search.
Many thanks,
R

·
Registered
247 Posts
I don't think anyone is ignoring you, it just feels that way sometimes. The short answer is it depends on what motor you are going to use. Usually, the motor needs more reduction than the final drive can provide. For example, the Nissan Leaf has a final drive ratio (actually, the only ratio) of 8.19:1, depending on the model year. Meanwhile the Spitfire has anywhere from 3.27:1 to 4.11:1. So, slower RPM, less efficiency, and less torque at the wheels. That's just one variable that goes into that decision. And, unfortunately, all I have time for today.

B

·
Registered
1996 Toyota Land Cruiser
145 Posts
The reason is because of RPM like dedlast has said. I also want to direct drive my vehicle and ditch the transmission, but I need a 2:1 or 3:1 reduction in between to make it work. Think of it like this: the average internal combustion engine revs to 5000 or 6000 rpm, the average electric motor revs to 8000 or 100000rpm. That means to get the same wheel speed, the electric motor needs to reduce the output RPM by half, or have a Triumph Spitfire that has the potential to go 200mph (but never will).