DIY Electric Car Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been saving a Toro Z-Master 72" mower for a few years (the ICE quit), mulling over the idea of converting to electric.

For starters:
- A new engine costs about $2,000 so that's my working budget.

- Engine is a Kohler Command Pro 725cc 25hp 39.2lb/ft of torque, horizontal output shaft that has a fore and aft output, the fore driving the propulsion, the aft the mower deck.

My plan (unless someone has experience with it not working) original is to keep things simple and mount two A/C motors in place of the gasoline engine, one facing forward and one facing aft, and run them at full 3600 RPM (The working speed of the ICE engine) from an inverter. Now I'm considering running two DC motors, one less part in the system (the inverter).

This would keep most of the OEM belts and pulleys, and I could use the OEM control arm, parking brake, master switch to turn off and on the drive motor, and the OEM PTO switch to turn the mower deck off and on (probably via relay).

I'm looking for advice on how to calculate appropriate replacement electric motor(s), inverter, and enough battery to run for 2 hours.

3:5 rule says I need 15hp of electric motor, but 2 x 7.5hp electric motors alone put the project out of price range.

·
Registered
1,148 Posts
to keep things simple and mount two A/C motors in place of the gasoline engine, one facing forward and one facing aft, and run them at full 3600 RPM from an inverter.
I'd argue that that is not very simple.

Inverters are easy-ish and cheap-ish to buy, but not at the 7-15hp range.

However...